Mirror, Mirror

Look in the mirror. Does the person you see match the person you feel like on the inside? How much stock do you put in appearances?

Expectations.

That’s what I see when I look in the mirror.

I see expectations of myself and expectations from others.

We expect a lot from other people.

We expect them not to disappoint us

But when they do, and they inevitably do, we’re not surprised

We were expecting it

Really, we were

We have too many expecations

I have too many expectations

I expect a lot from myself

As I probably should

I expect to be able to live the life that I want to

But why do we always expect so much from others?

Why do we expect others to make us happy?

We expect them to be someone or something

And then they turn out to be something different

Shouldn’t we have been expecting that?

What if the person really isn’t different?

What if they’ve always been the same

But you’re the one whose different?

What if you’re not the person you expected yourself to be?

What if the person looking back at you in the mirror

Isn’t even you?

Pingbacks!

  1. Daily Prompt: Mirror, Mirror | niennie
  2. M’s Little Pieces | Charron’s Chatter
  3. Daily Prompt: Mirror, Mirror | Two descriptions of a same person | IvyMosquito
  4. The mirror is not my friend. | Tales of a slightly stressed Mother!
  5. Mirrored- | Randomlyabstract’s Blog
  6. My Bare Face | Scribbled Posts
  7. Daily Prompt: Mirror, Mirror | Polyprotic Amory
  8. Mirror, Mirror: Appearance Matters More Than Talent | I Have an Interesting fact Fetish, and I Can’t Stop
  9. passion within | sarahscapes
  10. Daily Prompt: The New Me | A shot of espresso.
  11. How Do I Look? | The Enchanted Mind
  12. Daily Prompt – Mirrored – The wisdom lines. | Its all about a bit of this and that.
  13. Daily Prompt: Mirror, Mirror | Basically Beyond Basic
  14. Hey That’s Me! | Read Me
  15. The Clash/Daily Prompt, Mirrors | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  16. Of mirrors and reflections | Concentrate On Yourself
  17. My reflection is confusing | Claud’s Ramblings
  18. MIRRORED IMAGES | Serendipity
  19. Visualizing a different you | Emotional Fitness
  20. Who’s the Most EVERYTHING of them all? | The Best Life
  21. Mirror, Mirror:rorriM ,rorriM | Khana’s Web
  22. Daily Prompt: Mirror, Mirror | Being a Huntress
  23. Inside Looking Out | Finale to an Entrance
  24. Reflection | Real Life Co.
  25. Mirrors…Judgey McJudgertons | Unlocking The Inner Creative
  26. Body Image and Stuff | thanks for letting me autograph your cat
  27. What do you see… | My Top Fives…
  28. Oh, I Cry Over Spilt Milk
  29. I am who I am | Life Love Lily
  30. Who’s That Girl | The Migraine Chronicles